Monday,  December 6, 2021  10:03 pm

U.S. to open land and air borders on Nov. 8, says White House

  • Buzz
  •   10-15-2021  9:27 am
  •   Pax Global Media
U.S. to open land and air borders on Nov. 8, says White House
Pax Global Media

The United States land and air border will officially open to fully vaccinated foreign national travellers on Nov. 8, the White House confirmed on Friday (Oct. 15). 

White House Assistant Press Secretary Kevin Munoz confirmed the news on his Twitter account, saying the announcement and date applies to both international air travel and land travel. 

"The US’ new travel policy that requires vaccination for foreign national travelers to the United States will begin on Nov 8," Munoz tweeted. "This policy is guided by public health, stringent, and consistent." 

Earlier this week, it was announced that the U.S. land border would be reopening after being closed since March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The eased restriction at the land border will happen in two phases, U.S. officials said Wednesday. 

The first phase will allow fully vaccinated Canadians to cross U.S. land borders for nonessential reasons, such as family visits and tourism, pending they have the proper travel documentation. 

There will be no testing requirement for Canadians entering the U.S. by land.

The second phase of the land border reopening will start in January 2022, when all travellers across U.S. land borders – even the ones who are travelling for essential reasons – will be required to be fully vaccinated.

For air travel into the U.S., all foreign travellers must show proof of vaccination before boarding, as well as proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within three days of their flight, official said. 

This new rule will change the way Canadians fly to the United States. Until now, Canadians entering the U.S. by air have only been required to show a negative antigen test prior to boarding. 

It is not clear yet if the U.S.'s approach to proof of vaccination includes mixed doses. 

The U.S.'s new rules will replace the country's current policy that restricts travel by non-U.S. citizens who have visited the United Kingdom, European Union, China, India, Iran, Republic of Ireland, Brazil and South Africa within 14 days.

This is a developing story. 

Don't miss a single travel story: subscribe to PAX today!  Click here to follow PAX on Facebook.